Reading Time: 3 minutes

The Location sharing feature is quite helpful when it comes to sharing your location with your friends via various social media platforms. Most of the popular social media platforms like Facebook, WhatsApp Google Maps and Snapchat do have the location sharing feature which makes it easier to find friends in real life via live location sharing.

This feature allows your near and dear ones to know when you will arrive and you are safe. The feature as we said is available on most of the social media platforms for both iOS and Android. Let’s see how to use it with various social media apps.

Live Location Sharing Via WhatsApp
To start sharing your live location head over to the conversation window of the friend or group you wish to share your location.

Tap on the plus button in the bottom left corner. Select Location and then tap on Share Live Location with your friends or group. You will need to decide how long you wish to share your location with them. You can select the duration to last from 15 minutes, 1 hour, or 8 hours, and also allows you to add a comment if you want before confirming.

The location-sharing feature is protected by end-to-end encryption. It also allows you to turn off the feature any time you want to.

Live Location Sharing Via Facebook MessengerFacebook Live Location

Compared to WhatsApp, Facebook has the location sharing feature since March and is popular with many users already. To enable live location sharing head over to a conversation where you wish to share your location. Tap on the plus icon and select the Location icon- it is a big blue circle with an arrow on it. This pops up a map, offering you the option to share your location with a friend or a group for 60 minutes. You can always end the live location sharing session anytime by simply tapping “Stop Sharing”.

Live Location Sharing Via Google Maps

Google Map is also offering a similar feature where you can share your live location. You will need to open the app and tap on either the blue dot that represents your location or the menu button in the top left corner. Later select the location sharing option and set the time duration of the session to last for.

As Google is a known app specifically for its map-related features it provides many fine-tuned options when it comes to living location sharing the feature of all the social media apps. The Google map allows you to share your location from 15 minutes to an hour. You can also increase the duration or kill the live session by manually switching off the feature. The app allows you to share location with users in your Google contacts and gives you the flexibility to share location with anyone, instead of just a single app.

Live Location Sharing Via Snapchat’s Snap MapSnapchat’s Snap Map

Snapchat has a location-sharing feature called Snap Map, which shows where your friends are on a semi-live map, using your Bitmoji or a blank outline if you don’t have one.

You need to open Snapchat and pinch on the camera screen like you do when you zoom out on a picture. SnapMap can be customized so that all your friends can see where you are or you can limit it to just a few friends. The feature comes with a Ghost Mode, which allows you to stay hidden and it only updates your location when you open the app. The Ghost Mode can be misleading at times, and won’t be the best option if you wish someone to know where you are all the time.

Related Articles:

3 Tips to improve WhatsApp Privacy
How to Make WhatsApp Web Video Calls in 2021?
Prevent Google And Others From Tracking Your Phone