Netflix Testing new feature to End Password Sharing
Reading Time: < 1 minute

Netflix introduces a new feature to end password sharing people indulge in with people who don’t live in the same household. The new feature will most likely prompt viewers to pay an extra fee for this privilege, this comes just weeks after the platform announced its latest price hike. 

According to Chengyi Long, director of product innovation in a blog post said, “While these have been hugely popular, they have also created some confusion about when and how Netflix can be shared. As a result, accounts are being shared between households — impacting our ability to invest in great new TV and films for our members.” 

Earlier last year Netflix prompted viewers who shared an account to fill in the password or PIN, but without the push to pay an extra fee.

Netflix will be trying out this new feature in three countries to start off with such as Chile, Costa Rica, and Peru. Subscribers will also be able to add an extra viewer to their package at a discounted price 2,380 CLP in Chile, 2.99 USD in Costa Rica, and 7.9 PEN in Peru, apart from you being able to transfer viewing profiles into new accounts (either your own primary account or someone else’s).

Related Articles:
Apple iOS 15.4 update – Unlock your iPhone with Face ID and masks
37 New Emoji for iPhone – including Pregnant Man and Very Naughty Icons
NFT Stadium Launches GENESIS COLLECTION -New Marketplace