Ring Introduces End-to-End Encryption to its Flagship Video Doorbells
Reading Time: 2 minutes

Ring introduces end-to-end encryption of video and audio on its battery-powered video doorbells and security cameras. Earlier this feature was available on its hardwired and plug-in devices

End-to-end encryption locks down people’s videos that are on their cameras. It is only accessible when it is on the person’s enrolled iOS or Android device. Ring is also making it easier to save recorded videos with owners who sell or dispose of a Ring device.

The recorded footage can only be accessed by the camera’s owner and not by their mobile device. Even if a Ring employee would be interrogated, they could not provide content to the law enforcement.

Video and audio recordings are encrypted by default and stay that way as long as they’re on Ring’s servers or being streamed. The devices and the voice command passphrase are linked to only one device, ensuring security.

The Ring Pro 2, Ring Elite, and all wired and plug-in cameras are compatible with video end-to-end encryption. The Ring 4, Ring Video doorbell, and the Battery powered options such as the Ring Stick Up Cam are not.

All Ring cameras and doorbells have end-to-end encryption now, with the exception of its cheapest wired buzzer. Ring has a guide on their website with instructions for enrolling.

Video view-ability is limited when end-to-end encryption is turned on in the Ring app.

On iPhone, if Ring end-to-end encryption is disabled, videos can be accessed on the app and shared. As well, if Echo Show or third-party apps are used, messages can be sent through it. All features that disable encryption will work as they normally would.

You don’t need to give up on some convenience for better privacy protection.

This week, Ring introduced a new video saving feature to make it easier to complete the process of selling or getting rid of a Ring device.

Once a device is turned off, you can save any videos to your account without having to download them manually.

The new Remove Device option enables a user to delete the event/video from the device before removing it from their account.

Videos are saved to your account, as long as you keep your Ring subscription. If you cancel it, you will need to manually download them on your phone or computer.

Related Articles:
Is a Smart Doorbell a Smart Buy?
How to Turn Amazon Echo Show into Digital Photo Frame
Alexa Announcements – How to Relay Your Voice to All Your Amazon Echo Devices